Galwin Fabian

Just another personal blog

Menu Close

Category: Basketball (page 5 of 5)

NCAA Rivals: The Battle of Intramuros

Now that the last game of the elimination round has been played, four teams are tied for second at 9-5 win-loss card.

The Philippine NCAA uses FIBA rules, and under those rules is the FIBA classification point system. The four teams will have to play a playoff for the three Final Four spots.

San Beda is untouchable at the first spot at 11 3 and gets the first twice-to-beat incentive.

No.2 SSC-R 4 2 10
No. 3 MIT 3 3 9
No. 4 Letran 3 3 9
No. 5 JRU 2 4 8

San Sebastian will play Jose Rizal University and Letran will play Mapua. Winners of both games will play in another do-or-die match to determine which team gets the second seeding in the Final Four and the last of two twice-to-beat incentive. The losing team automatically gets the third seed. Losing teams in the first two matches will also play another match to determine who will take a vacation and who will sit at the fourth seed.

The two schools from Intramuros, which are three blocks apart, Letran College and Mapua Institute of Technology, will play on Septemeber 15 at 4 PM. The Cardinals beat the Knights in the first round but the Knights avenged that loss in the second round to split their games in the season.


This is a game in which both teams will be bringing stout backcourts to the table, however I would hand the edge to Mapua. Kelvin dela Pena (the reigning Most Valuable Player of the league) and Jonathan Banal comprise the best starting backcourt in the field. Even with Mangahas replacing Jonathan Banal in the backcourt isn’t too shabby.

Both Banal and Mangahas are dynamic players that knows how to distribute the basketball. What makes them dangerous is that because of their shooting abilities, they can get their own shots anytime they want.


Daa, Guevarra, Foronda against the frontcourt of Mapua, led by their senior Niel Pascual, comprising of Jason Pascual, Mazo, and Sarangay would be a tie. These Big Men will battle for the boards and blocks. Note that, boards will be a great factor in this game. As the record shows, Mapua beat Letran when they lead in boards with 38-34 while Letran beat Mapua when the Knights had 57 boards against the Cardinal’s 41 boards. It may mean that whoever gets the most rebounds of the game will mostly win it.


Both Louie Alas and Leo Isaac are veteran mentors but I would hand the edge to Isaac. Isaac probably have more mentoring experience, he is one of the assistant coach of Air21 and the coach of Noosa Shoes. Coach Louie Alas is considered to be the best defensive coach of the NCAA and will make good plays.


Allan Mangahas and Mark Sarangay gets a lot of time a rookie, which means Leo Isaac and the Cardinals are as young as it gets. Isaac is only in his third year as the Cardinal’s mentor. I would hand the intangibles edge to the Letran Knights.


Mapua 62

Letran 60

84th NCAA Rookie of the Year

The 84th NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament eliminations will end tomorrow, Wednesday. But the Final Four can’t be readily decided after that game.

Depending on the outcome of the last game of the elimination round, the game between the San Beda Red Lions and Letran Knights, the NCAA will have a playoff to determine who gets what seed in the final four.

It is a good time to reveal my top impact rookies that eventually could be the Rookie of the Year for the 2008-2009 NCAA season.

Allan Mangahas. Mangahas had a lot of time as a rookie, averaging 22.8 minutes in 14 games. In that many games, he made 158 points, 54 rebounds, 41 assists and 21 steals. He tops all rookies with his 11.3 points per game. Why he should win the Rookie of the Year Award? Allan Mangahas scored 22 big points against Jose Rizal University to give Mapua Institute of Technology a 9-5 win-loss card to have a three-team tie for the last Final Four berth.

Mapua currently have two rookie of the year awardee in its lineup, Kelvin dela Pena and Jonathan Banal. Coach Leo Isaac might soon have another one.

Jake Pascual. To play for the defending champions as a rookie is a big toll but this rookie stood up and played his game. Coach Frankie Lim gives this rookie an average of 14.9 minutes to score an about 4.9 a game. Pacual played big against Philippine Christian University and Letran , scoring 10 and 12 points, respectively, from 5 two-point shots in as many attempts in both games. Why he would win the Rookie of the Year Award? Jake Pascual and the Red Lions are on top, primed to defend their title.

Other notable players for the Rookie of the Year Award. Mark Sarangay, another Mapuan. Another Rookie of the Year? I don’t know if there was a time in NCAA where there are two players that was named rookie of the year, co-rookie of the year if you may. If there was, I don’t have any idea when was that.

Nchotu John Njei of the JRU had a decent rookie season and have a long shot at the rookie of the year award.

images are are owned by their respective owners, shared under creative commons 2.0

2008 PBA Rookie Draft Results: Kelvin dela Pena goes to Alaska

First Round

1. Gabe Norwood George Mason University Rain or Shine
2. Jared Dillinger University of Hawaii Talk ‘N Text
3. Jason Castro Philippine Christian University Talk ‘N Text
4. Robert Reyes Flagler College Talk ‘N Text
5. Solomon Mercado Biola University Alaska
6. Mark Borboran University of the East Air21
7. Beau Belga Philippine Christian University Purefoods
8. Bonifacio Custodio University of the East San Miguel
9. Larry Rodriguez Philippine Maritime Institute Red Bull
10. Kelvin Gregorio University of the East Sta. Lucia

Second Round

11. John Paul Escobal San Beda College Talk ‘N Text
12. Tyrone Tang De La Salle University Rain or Shine
13. Cholo Villanueva De La Salle University Air21
14. Chito Jaime AMA Computer University Sta. Lucia
15. Kelvin dela Pena Mapua Institute of Technology Alaska
16. Jonathan Fernandez National University Purefoods
17. Jeffrey Chan Far Eastern University Red Bull
18. Mark Anthony Cuevas Los Angeles County College Red Bull
19. Passed
20. Christian Cabatu College of St. Benilde Sta. Lucia

Congratulations to Kelvin dela Pena of Mapua Institute of Technology, the reigning MVP of the NCAA. Nataniel Cruz who also played for Mapua was not drafted.

Filoil: Ateneo vs. La Salle

The rivalry of Ateneo Blue Eagles and La Salle Green Archers of the University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) and one of the most watched rivalry in Philippine amateur basketball.

This no-bearing game is a good preview for the incoming UAAP season.

After regulation, both teams had it 65-65. They are now playing each other in over time.

NBA Finals 2008: Lakers at Boston

The Boston Celtics and Los Angeles Lakers are going to play their game one (1) of the NBA Finals Thursday night at TD Banknorth Garden.

© 2003-2015 Galwin. All rights reserved.

Powered by Fabian.PH